Roast baby gem, with courgette, tatties and tomato sauce

Screenshot 2019-08-23 at 18.55.19

 

I have finally reached the stage of being able to harvest from my garden. I moved into my first ever flat at the start of April and the main reason I was keen on this flat were the front and back gardens. I’ve been able to harvest some radishes (and their delicious leaves).

Now was the time to start using my first crop of potatoes – these are called pink fir apple bedohSNijP8k+qbaCvQThey are quite small, but taste delicious (as all home grown food does)

I also had some cherry and pomodoro tomatoes that were well on their way to making their own exit from my fridge. I roasted these with many cloves of garlic and then pulverised.

nxumnadIRlKZIfEw%dqVLgSo to the main course.

 

One courgette, sliced and roasted with garlic, juice of one whole lemon and then the rest of the lemon chucked in. They don’t take long, but some oil is needed and keep an eye on them.

One half of a gem lettuce, seasoned and then pan-roasted in a knob of butter.

The potatoes were boiled, and then tossed in some veg oil and chopped herbs from the garden (mint and thyme, but use what you like).

I then assembled the dish.

Tomato sauce in the bottom of the bowl, with the lettuce as the main attraction in the centre. I then placed the tatties and the courgette around the lettuce. Then a liberal sprinkling of mozzarella. And here it is – in all its tasty, make do, deliciousness!

Screenshot 2019-08-23 at 18.55.19

Leave a comment