Tomatoes on toast

on

QsSnky91TDW+Eh%QBdwO9w.jpgThis plate looked better before I added the side salad, but it all tasted pretty good! This was a ‘make it up as you go along’ dinner that was inspired by a reduced sour dough loaf in Tesco and my new garden.

Ingredients (no amounts really – just do what tastes good and what you have)

Sourdough loaf

Tomatoes (little bitty ones)

Basil (fresh)

Olive oil (Extra V)

Radishes (leaves and all)

Salad leaves

Garlic

Salt

Balsamic glaze

Mozzarella

The tomatoes

I had some delicious little tomatoes on the vine, which I chopped into 4 pieces and then mixed with a good handful of fresh basil, a pinch of salt and a good glug of ev olive oil. I then left these for about 30 minutes to make friends.

The toast

Two slices of sour dough, under the grill and very lightly toasted

The rest

Radish leaf pesto

I was having a nose in my garden and noticed that a few radishes were ready for picking. I took those, along with two good handfuls of the salad leaves I am growing back into the house and washed them all. I then separated the leaves of the radish from the radishes and then chopping the leaves

1M8sm5%xSyKJ9AXX3DW3oQ.jpg

I put one clove of garlic in a mortar and pestle along with a pinch of rock salt. After mashing those together to form a powerful garlicky paste, I added in all the chopped leaves and pounded the lot until good and smooshy. Then a good glug of EV oil (again!).

Then on a chopping board I sliced the radishes and the salad leaves

Leaves assemble!

Two slices of toast on a plate, tomato mixture artfully distributed. Little bits of mozzarella liberally distributed, and then a good swish of balsamic glaze over the top. Pesto over that and then the salad around the side.

Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment