Butternut squash, cauliflower and cottage cheese gratin

img_3953As with most of my recipes, this was a combination of reading a few ideas online and then making do with what I had. In truth, I thought I had quark so I started out making that, but then when I opened it I realised it was cottage cheese so I just had to go with it.

Ingredients (I used no specific weights or measurements)

Butternut squash, peeled and chopped into pieces

Cauliflower, cut into florets

Pepper

Olive oil spray

Stale sourdough

Walnuts

Cottage cheese

Grated lower fat cheddar cheese

Oat milk

Garlic

What I did

I roasted the cauliflower & butternut squash with three cloves of garlic whole, a good few sprays of olive oil and a lot of pepper. Whatever temperature you want, until cooked

In a separate dish I toasted (i.e. bunged in the oven next to the veggies) some chunks of sourdough and walnuts, just for a few minutes. And then pulverised them in my blender.

I once the veggies were cooked (I covered them with foil for the last 10-15 minutes) I took that dish out of the oven. I removed the garlic cloves, squeezed the inside into a jug which had 4 or so dessert spoons of cottage cheese, mixed with grated cheddar (handful or so) and a dash of oat milk (could use water).

I then poured that over the veggies, topped with the breadcrumbs and walnuts and popped back in the oven until everything is hot and the top is crunchy. My dish was too big so instead of dirtying up another I reused the foil from above to create a little wall in the dish. Worked a treat.

I don’t add salt in my cooking if I can help it, but this would definitely benefit from salt

img_3952

 

Leave a comment