No-milk yorkie pud

For a while I had a fool/Kate-proof Yorkie pudding recipe and it was amazing. I like a giant yorkie filled with roasties and veggies, topped with Bisto instant gravy. Then it all stopped, and all I could make was a thick uncooked pancake. So I gave up.

Today I had the urge to try again, so here’s what I did. I am allergic to cow’s milk, so never have any in. Had some soya that needed to be used up.

300ml of soya milk

4 eggs beaten and added to the milk.

250g of plain flour.

Pinch of salt

Add mix the egg and milk mix to the salt and flour mix, gradually and combine using a whisk. I suspect you’re supposed to get the lumps out, but I never manage and it seems to be ok.

I use a cast iron pan, with a good dessert spoon of coconut oil. Placed into an oven set a gas mark 8 until the oil is at smoking point. (the oven was good and hot as the roasties were already in there).

Take pan out of the oven using oven gloves (don’t forget this step). Place on the hob and turn the hob on to high. I recommend keeping the extractor fan on, to avoid a horrific smoke alarm noise.

Pour the mixture in. I used half, with half for another go tomorrow.

Turn off the hob and place in the oven. Peer through the door frequently to make sure it’s cooked. I don’t tend to time things, so I think it was about 30 to 35 minutes.

Take out of the oven and fill with the lovelies of your own choice. A jug of instant gravy would do the job nicely. If you’re so inclined, some golden syrup (instead) is, I am told, a delicacy. Excuse the blurry photo – that’s the steam from the veggies.

img_3923

Leave a comment