Mushroom, spinach, quark and pine nut pie

Well, it has been a long time since I wrote a food blog post. Not because I haven’t been eating, making up new recipes or cooking, but just because I’ve not felt the urge. Anyway, today I made a new pie today and it was pretty tasty, despite the cooking disaster that befell it. So here goes.

Ingredients

Filo pastry (6 sheets)

Spinach – about 250g (wilted in the microwave and then placed in a muslin cloth. Squeeze and squeeze until you can get all the water out)

Flat leaf parsley – about 150g very finely chopped (or cut using scissors)

Pine nuts (toasted)

Mushrooms (cooked – I did them in the microwave which increases their antioxidant effects)

2 eggs beaten

Quark – about 100ml

Grated cheese – I had about 30g left, but you could use as much as you wanted I think!

Lots of pepper

Salt

Method

I’ve set up above how each of the items are cooked. Combine the (raw) parsley, cooked mushrooms and spinach (remember to squeeze out all the water) and pinenuts. Mix well. In another bowl combine the quark and eggs with salt & pepper & cheese. Add to the spinach mix.

Oil, thinly, a pie dish. Dampen a clean tea cloth. Open the filo and lay on a board, cover with the damp tea cloth. Take one piece of filo (and return the damp cloth) and lay it in the bottom of the dish, brush with oil. Then take another piece of filo & place it in the dish and repeat. So you will have three pieces of filo, which are bigger than the dish and lay over the edges of the dish.

Add the pie filling

Then start the filo process over the top. This time I folded the filo in half and laid it over. Then oil, then another piece of filo and repeat. Then fold over the edges. Brush with oil. Bake, but not for as long as I did!IMG_3609.JPG

Leave a comment