Spelt banana bread (low sodium)

I’m not one for food blogs which have a 3000-word preamble before it gets to the recipe. I’ll just say that this recipe was born out of not reading the original recipe properly before starting and a desire to use some things up.

Dry ingredients (mix together)

2.25 cups of spelt flour

1/2 cup of caster sugar

1.5 teaspoons of no sodium baking powder (a mixture of cream of tartar and potassium bicarbonate)

Wet ingredients

3 very ripe bananas mashed

2 eggs beaten in

2 teaspoons of blackstrap molasses

1 cup of yoghurt (I used a passionfruit & natural yoghurt that needed to be used up, but use what you like)

Add all of the above to the dry ingredients and combine – add to a loaf tin. Place into a preheated oven (gas mark 5 or so) and cook until, well cooked (knife comes out clean). I didn’t time it but I think it was about 40 minutes. I checked after 20 and it wasn’t cooked so I put some foil over the top to stop it burning.

Remove from oven and then leave to cool. This is quite a sour/bitter recipe in part because I didn’t use much sugar, and from the molasses. The yoghurt adds a tartness too. img_3912

Leave a comment